Rant of the Day #7

New Year’s Eve/Day is my favorite time of year. I find it to be pretty melancholic. People find themselves reflecting on their lives and what they’ve done and what they want to do, maybe for the first time in the whole year.

Every New Year’s until my senior year of high school, my family and I would all say prayers to ring in the new year. Usually a church service would be on in the background. When my mom passed away, that tradition stopped.

From senior year until this year, I would go back home and go to a “party” (intimate gathering?) with a few friends that I don’t talk to that much anymore. This year there is not going to be a party, and I’m not able to go to it anyway. I only found out last night that it wasn’t happening, and even though I couldn’t go, it felt like another tradition was ending.

I’m sort of mixed when it comes to traditions. I’ve been a part of traditions that felt confining. But sometimes I envy my friends who do have their typical rituals/events that they do every year. It feels like a stability that I want but don’t know if I’ll ever have.

Who knows what the new year will bring?

Share your thoughts

